Deleting Your Twitter Permanently
Once deleted, your Twitter account will no longer exist and people cannot search for you on Twitter or access your profile any longer.
To delete your Twitter account, follow our easy 5-step guide below.
- Sign in to your Twitter account. Note: Account deactivation is not available on mobile devices and must be done through the twitter.com website.
- Click on your profile picture at the top right corner, and then go down to Settings.
- In the Account Settings, scroll down to the bottom and click on Deactivate My Account.
- Read through account deactivation information. After reading the information provided, click the Deactivate @Username button.
- You will then be prompted to enter your account password before your account can be permanently deleted.
That’s it. Your Twitter account is queued to be permanently deleted.
More Ways to Protect Your Privacy
In addition to deleting your Twitter account, you can take other steps to protect your privacy online when using social networks. The first step is awareness, and you should be aware of the following:
- Information you post to social media is publicly visible, so think before you post.
- Even if you manage your privacy settings, there are still privacy concerns “behind the scenes” as Twitter collects data on users.
- Understand how your social media applications connect to other apps, and that data sharing may occur across programs.
To protect your privacy while using social networks, you can also do the following:
- Use a VPN: A VPN like NordVPN encrypts your Internet connection, to keep your privacy and security protected when sending messages or personal communications.
- Think before you share: Information shared on social media is publicly visible, so remember it is visible to a large amount of people.
- Adjust your privacy settings: Set your privacy settings within applications to control how your information is shared and what is kept private.